Top Menu

Clubs

Here, you can find the list of clubs for the school year, as well as dedicated websites.

2016-17 SOUTH EUGENE CLUB LIST

 


TIER ONE CLUBS

Speech and Debate

Club Advisor:  Tom Lininger – lininger@uoregon.edu

Student Representative:  Carson Schmittle – carson13@schmittle.com

Purpose: To compete in organized competitions with other schools in Oregon (through the OSAA) and in major competitions throughout the United States in Speech and Debate

 


TIER TWO CLUBS

Equestrian Team/OHSET

Club Advisor:  Emily Elias – emshorses@gmail.com

Student Representative:  Julia Glock – julia.purple.husky@gmail.com

Purpose: To train for events and compete against other schools at meets.

 

Pétanque

Club Advisor:

Student Representative:

Purpose: To play pétanque

 

South Eugene Alpine Ski Race Team

Club Advisor:  Jacques de St.Phalle – jpdsp@msn.com

Student Representative:

Purpose: Indoor practices at South Eugene High School during the winter season. Compete against other Oregon high schools on the slopes.

 

SE Nordic Ski Team

Club Advisor:  Charlie Wilshire –  charliewilshire@yahoo.com

Student Representative:

Purpose: Competes in Nordic ski races during the winter season against other high schools.

 

South Eugene Rowing Club

Club Advisor:  Spencer Kales –  spencerkales@gmail.com

Student Representative:  Miyako Iwata – miyakoiwata17@gmail.com

Coach:   Spencer Kales – spencerkales@gmail.com

Website:   southeugenerowingclub.org

Purpose: To compete in rowing regattas against other schools. Club practices on the water at Dexter Lake and dry land training at SEHS after school.

 

South Ladies Ultimate Club

Club Advisor/Coach:

Student Representative:  Raina Kamrat – raina.kamrat@gmail.com

Purpose: To play Ultimate Frisbee after school and against other schools.

 

South Men’s Ultimate Club

Club Advisor/Coach:  Keith Bucher – keith.bucher@gmail.com

Student Representative:  Michael Martin – martin-MK@comcast.net

Prupose: To practice, play, and compete in Ultimate Frisbee including against other schools.

 


TIER THREE CLUBS

Animal Welfare Society

Club Advisor:   Sarah Hocken – hocken_s@4j.lane.edu

Student representative:  Sarah Coates – scoates178@gmail.com

Purpose: To support animals or animal related causes both locally and nationally via funds and volunteering.

 

Art Club

Club Advisor:   Peter Saraceno  –  saraceno_p@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Julia Chou – chou_uoregon@yahoo.com

Purpose: Creating an art community at SEHS and promote art and drawing.

 

Asian Student Union

Club Advisor:  Atsuko Rawland – rawland_a@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Tiffany Huang –  tiffhuang3356@gmail.com

Purpose: To promote awareness and support for issues surrounding the Asian community.

 

Badminton Club

Club Advisor:  Ladislav Filip – filip_l@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Victor Raiskin –  vicraiskin@gmail.com

Purpose: To encourage students to play badminton, learn the sport, and have fun playing badminton.

 

Black Student Union

Club Advisor:  Gregory Dunkin –  dunkin_g@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Cateira McCoy – Caddytaddy@gmail.com

Purpose: To create a safe place where conversations about race and identity can happen between all people with the focus of an African American culture.

 

Bike Club

Club Advisor:   Asher Tubman –  tubman_d@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Josefina Hajek  –  josiehajek@gmail.com

Purpose: Promote bike safety, educate members and others about routes and rules of biking.

 

Cultural Connections

Club Advisor:  Jessica Schabtach – schabtach@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Margaret Gleason – margaret.a.gleason@gmail.com

Purpose: To better engage international exchange students in the SEHS community.

 

Digital Music Club

Club Advisor :   Mary Taylor – taylor_m@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Julian Fortune – juliandfortune@gmail.com

Purpose: To learn the art of digital music production and connect with others who have similar interests.

 

Earth Guardians 350 South

Club Advisor:  Julia Harvey  – Harvey@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Corina Mac Williams – corimac2000@gmail.com

Purpose: To take action in order to preserve a healthy climate for this generation and all future generations.

-The Feminists Union

Club Advisor:  Lara Kincaid-Salgado –kincaid_l@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Maya Corral – maya.corral3@gmail.com

Purpose: To promote equality between the sexes, both at South Eugene HS and throughout the world and to promote women’s empowerment.

 

Figure of Speech

Club Advisor:  Barbara Siemens  – Siemens_b@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Hannah Shlesinger – southfos@gmail.com

Purpose: To provide a place were young writers and activists can share their work with others.

 

Film for Change

Club Advisor:   Deon Saraceno – saraceno_d@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:   Madeline Blumm –  maddie.e.blumm@gmail.com

Purpose: To raise money for various causes through the use of film productions.

 

Girls in Science and Technology

Club Advisor:   Julia Harvey  –  Harvey@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Tabia Schmidt –  tabia.yishui.schmidt@gmail.com

Purpose: To promote and provide opportunities for girls interested in science, technology, engineering and math.

 

Graphic Design

Club Advisor:    Bobbie Willis – willis_b@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:   Dimitri Bong – dbong32@gmail.com

Purpose: To teach and strengthen graphic design skills in members, for real world applications and college.

 

Habitat for Humanity – SEHS Chapter

Club Advisor:   Deon Saraceno – saraceno_d@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Sophia Newman – snewman543@gmail.com

Purpose: Volunteering with Eugene/Springfield Habitat for Humanity.

 

Jewish Student Union

Club Advisor:  Shira Melul – shiramelul@ncsy.org

Club Representative:  Maggie Clark – maggie.pixie@gmail.com

Purpose: To teach about Jewish culture and tradition in a fun and interactive environment.

 

Latino Student Union

Club Advisor:   Elton Villanueva – villanu_el@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:

Purpose: To promote and educate the South Eugene community on Latino history and culture

 

Letters for Change

Club Advisor:    Suzie McLaughlin – mclauchlin_s@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:          Maya Corral – corralmaya@yahoo.com

Zoe Pringle:  zpringle32@4j.lane.edu

Purpose: To break cultural barriers and create an environment where Students empower each other through letters, care packages and other media.

 

Life Club

Club Advisor:   Jacob Clark – clark_j@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Sam DeCosta  – tcksamtheman@gmail.com

Purpose: Hang out, eat together, play games, read the bible, pray.

 

Look Me in the Eye Club

Club Advisor:   Niels Pasternak

Student Representative:  Sophia Newman – snewman543@gmail.com

Purpose: To promote awareness, equality, and communication skills for people with physical and developmental disabilities.

 

Loraxmen

Club Advisor:   Jacob Clark – clark_j@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Rosemary Williams – rosemarywilliams@gmail.com

Purpose: To promote a healthy future through volunteering and fundraisers.

 

Math Club

Club Advisor:   Tamara Torrence – torrence_t@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Jamie St Sauver – jamiestsauver1@gmail.com

Purpose: To help students prepare for the AMC 10 and 12 tests, and to bring together people who love math.

 

Model US Government

Club Advisor:  Barbara Siemens –  siemens_b@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Aviv Bernstein Livne – planet3345@gmail.com

Purpose: To Promote understanding of the operations of government and involvement in political affairs.

 

Mock Trial

Club Advisor:  Stan Paulic  – paulic@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Noshin Rahman – noshin8610@gmail.com

Purpose: To imitate a real life court case and compete in the Mock Trial competition in Oregon.

 

Native American Student Union

Club Advisor:  Elton Villanueva – villanu_el@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:

 

Origami Club

Club Advisor:  Mindy Rimbey – rimbey_m@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Jeremiah Vandagrift – pandastinkbug@gmail.com

Purpose: To teach students how to do orgami and show them Asian culture.

 

Red Cross Club

Club Advisor:   Deon Saraceno  – saraceno_d@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Victor Raiskin – vicraiskin@4j.lane.edu

Purpose: To engage in Red Cross-related service opportunities while promoting and practicing the core values of the Red Cross.

 

Respect(ed)

Club Advisor:  Juli McGlinsky –  mcglinsky@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Maya Corral – corralmaya@yahoo.com

Purpose: To provide peer education to students through various workshops/presentations on a variety of different health related subjects.

 

Restorative Justice Club

Club Advisor:   Stan Paulic  –  paulic@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Nathalie Marx  –  natnat105@gmail.com

Purpose: To raise awareness in the SEHS and surrounding community about the importance of restorative justice.

 

Robotics Club

Club Advisor:   Asher Tubman  – tubman_a@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Alissa Liu –  alissa.liujuu@gmail.com

Purpose: To teach STEM related career skills and build a robot for competition.

 

Rotary Interact Club

Club Advisor:   Neils Pasternak –  pasternak_N@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Sukriti Agarwal – sukriti.agarwal.2001@gmail.com

Purpose: To provide volunteer and leadership activities for students at SEHS, as well as opportunities to learn about how to better our community.

 

Spoken Word

Club Advisor:  Jenn Scott – scott_jen@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative: Hallie Ford  –  hallie.rr.ford@gmail.com

Purpose: Provide a platform for student voices and oral presentation of creative writing.

 

Ukulele Union

Club Advisor:  Laura Queirolo  – queirolo_l@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:   Connor Gabor  – connortgabor@gmail.com

Purpose: To play ukulele in a group. Perform and practice as a band.

 

World Books

Club Advisor:   Mindy Rimbey – rimbey_m@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative: Aviv Bernstein Livne – planet3345@gmail.com

Purpose: To increase global and cultural awareness through books.

 

Yearbook Club

Club Advisor:   Bobbie Willis  –  willis_b@4j.lane.edu

Student Representative:  Sydney Bailey – sbailey25@4j.lane.edu

Purpose: Offer students to be a part of the 16/17 yearbook team and have their work published.

 

Yoga Club

Club Advisor:   Nate Guadaghi – Nate@Boyoga.com

Student Representative:   Connor Gabor –  connortgabor@gmail.com

Purpose: To provide free yoga sessions for the students and teachers of South.